The Story I Want To Tell

I’ve snatched the following from a recent post by Rachel Held Evans.  It’s by a father named Justin Bowers, whom I don’t know but whose words I enjoy.

Justin is responding to a question Rachel poses on her blog about a particular topic.  I’m taking part of his response, not to fall into that comment stream as much as to share his perspective raising daughters.  I think Justin is a pastor, if I read the earlier part of this comment correctly.  Whether you can relate to his faith-filled words, I imagine you have a story you want to tell the daughters and sons in your lives.

The story I want my daughters to live is the one that begins in Genesis.

The story where it is “not good” for the man to be alone.

The story where Eve is taken from Adam’s side–a place of companionship and equality, not to walk behind.

The story where, prior to sin entering the world, the relationship of the man and woman was a mirror of the unity of the Triune Creator–equal and submissive to each other because of love.

The story where the gospels open on amazingly godly women, Mary and Elizabeth, through whom the Kingdom invasion began.

The story where Paul writes, ‘There is neither Jew nor Gentile, slave nor free, male nor female, for you are all one in Christ Jesus.’

The story where the body of Christ–the Church–is at its fullest breathing capacity when its members function in their fullest giftedness regardless of any barrier.

Leave a Reply

