I’m Running For The Office Of Love

I’m running for the office of love

My heart is in the ring

I’m bad at making speeches

So I guess I’ll have to sing

A tune of moons and flowers

And things that go with Spring

And things that go with Spring

Love is so political

I don’t remember it this way

They’ll curse you if you play it straight

And kill you if you’re gay

They say that love is dangerous

That it’s best to do without

So somebody has to speak for love

That’s why I’m singing out

I’m running for the office of love

My heart is in the ring

I’m bad at making speeches

So I guess I’ll have to sing

A tune of moons and flowers

And things that go with Spring

And things that go with Spring

Love is like a loaded gun

A fool stand in its way

There was one man who was on the run

He was trying to get away

But love took careful aim at him

She brought him in her sights

He bought her wine and perfume

And all her favorite delights

He hadn’t been paying attention

And given love her due

She took away his peace of mind

And plagued him with the blues

I’m running for the office of love

My heart is in the ring

I’m bad at making speeches

So I guess I’ll have to sing

A tune of moons and flowers

And things that go with Spring

And things that go with Spring

They say that love is dangerous

It’s on the radio

That holding hands is fatal

A kiss can bring you low

The papers they keep shouting

That “LOVE MEANS DOOM AND GLOOM”

So love is lying low for awhile

Until her next big bloom

Until her next big bloom

I’m running for the office of love

My heart is in the ring

I’m bad at making speeches

So I guess I’ll have to sing

A tune of moons and flowers

And things that go with Spring

And things that go with Spring

Leave a Reply

